The Folded Flag


There is no other picture that I have ever seen that spoke more words and feelings into my heart than this one of a Marine presenting my Mom the folded flag in honor of my Dad at our families private memorial service last week. It was done with such reverence and precision. Dad would have been so pleased with the way the Marine Corps honored him and our family was moved by everything-the 7 guns shooting 3 rounds each, Taps being played and the presentation of the flag ceremony. Mom is such an amazing and strong woman. And our family did the best we could having only 20 minutes to do this due to COVID restrictions.

I'd never witnessed this military honor in person and seeing it for my Dad was something I will never forget. Dad was strong, intelligent, faithful and loving in every way. Our family misses him each and every day. We take hope in knowing that one day, we will all be reunited again with the Lord. 

Semper Fi, Oorah!  See you soon Dad!

Just in case you didn't know, here is what the 13 folds of the flag represent:

  1. The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life.
  2. The second fold signifies our belief in eternal life.
  3. The third fold is made in honor and tribute of the veteran departing our ranks, and who gave a portion of his or her life for the defense of our country to attain peace.
  4. The fourth fold exemplifies our weaker nature as citizens trusting in God; it is to Him we turn for His divine guidance.
  5. The fifth fold is an acknowledgment to our country, for in the words of Stephen Decatur, “Our country, in dealing with other countries, may she always be right, but it is still our country, right or wrong.”
  6. The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.
  7. The seventh fold is a tribute to our armed forces, for it is through the armed forces that we protect our country and our flag against all enemies.
  8. The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day, and to honor our mother, for whom it flies on Mother’s Day.
  9. The ninth fold is an honor to womanhood, for it has been through their faith, love, loyalty, and devotion that the character of the men and women who have made this country great have been molded.
  10. The 10th fold is a tribute to father, for he, too, has given his sons and daughters for the defense of our country since he or she was first-born.
  11. The 11th fold, in the eyes of Hebrew citizens, represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon and glorifies, in their eyes, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.
  12. The 12th fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies, in their eyes, God the Father, the Son, and Holy Ghost.
  13. The last fold, when the flag is completely folded, the stars are uppermost, reminding us of our national motto, “In God We Trust.”


Popular Posts


I'm Happy!